Dr Carmel Barrau former AMHE SFL président installed as president of the Dade County Medical Association

June 22, 2023 – With families, friends, and colleagues gathered at the JW Marriott for the 2023 Presidential Inauguration, the Dade County Medical Association installed Dr. Carmel Barrau as the 113th President of the organization.   The recognition marks a career of service Dr. Barrau has provided to the community and his patients.

Carmel Barrau, MD, President of the DCMA, and Rafael J. Fernandez, Jr., MD, Immediate Past President of the DCMA

Dr. Barrau’s Haitian heritage was honored throughout the evening as attendees experienced the Caribbean Carnival theme with a selection of traditional menu items and drinks and the sound of batucada.    The evening culminated with Dr. Barrau, accompanied by his family, being sworn in as the new President of the association by outgoing President, Dr. Rafael Fernandez, Jr.

Doctors Joshua Lenchus, President of the FMA, Antonio Wong, President of BCMA and Martha Rodriguez, President of PBCMS.

In his acceptance message, Dr. Barrau emphasized his commitment to work hand-in-hand with health care professionals throughout the community to find solutions to improve the well-being and rights of patients and physicians. Promoting three crucial aspects that form the foundation of medicine: the art and science of medicine, promoting collaboration and communication among our members; the business of medicine, ensuring that everyone in our community has access to the care they need; and the politics of medicine, being a strong advocate for healthcare policy at the local, state, and national level.  Dr. Barrau encouraged those in attendance to join him in an effort to accomplish his goals.  “To whom much is given, much is expected.”

Dr. Barrau, an Internal Medicine specialist, is Past President of the Haitian Medical Association Abroad – AMHE, a former member of the Florida Board of Medicine, and a founding member of the Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine.  He recognized two of his mentors in attendance, Dr. Rudolph Moise and Dr. Nelson Adams, both Past Presidents of the DCMA, as two people who have contributed to his career since he came to Miami from Haiti.

The new Board of Director and executive Committee of the DCMA

In addition to the Presidential Inauguration, Dr. Jose D. Suarez, Immediate Past President, recognized the efforts of Dr. Rafael J. Fernandez over the past year and officially inducted him into the DCMA Past President’s Council.

The DCMA also announced the new Executive Committee of the Board of Directors, composed of Patricia Ares-Romero, M.D., President-Elect; Adriana Bonansea- Frances, M.D. – Vice-President; Jorge Marcos, MD, Secretary/Treasurer, and Rafael J. Fernandez, Jr. M.D, Immediate Past President. Other Board members include: Enrique Fernandez, MD; Eugene Fu, MD; Raul Grosz, MD; Estelamari Rodriguez, MD; Jeffry Biehler, MD; Julie Kantor, MD; Audrea Vaughan, DO; Damaris Mafut, MD.

For more information about how to support the Dade County Medical Association and become a member, visit www.miamimed.com

About the DCMA

The DCMA is the organization of choice for physicians who advocate for patients and the quality and sustainability of the practice of medicine. Its mission is to support its members in all aspects of the practice of medicine; to serve physicians and their patients by establishing and promoting ethical, educational, and clinical standards for the medical profession, and to advocate the highest principle of all, the integrity of the patient/physician relationship.

SOURCE: southfloridahospitalnews